Post Grad

3 years ago yesterday, I graduated college.


(Say whaaaaat?!)

I can’t even fully wrap my mind around the fact that it has already been three years.  It’s got me reflecting on all the happenings in my life since then.  If I had to sum it all up in one word, it’s this: growth.  I can’t tell you how different I feel from that girl in the picture.  The one who was scared to take chances, scared to get hurt, confused about where she wanted to go and how she was going to get there.

The last three years, I’ve grown.  I’ve pushed myself to grow.  I’ve forced myself to evaluate my life, the people in it, where I want to be and how I am going to get there.  But it didn’t happen overnight.

Three years ago, I found myself  at the beginning of a completely toxic and tumoltuous on again off again relationship.
In short, I fell for the wrong boy.
I got my heart broken.
And I really struggled to move on from it.


I went on my fair share of awesomely bad dates.
But I was putting myself out there, more than I ever had in the past.
Somewhere along the way, I picked up the pieces of my broken heart and ended up finding love.


I struggled with anxiety as I searched for my first “big girl” job.
Eventually I landed it.
This meant learning to go to bed at a decent hour (ahem, midnight) and waking up every morning at 7.  (Ew)
I stayed at the same job for nearly 3 years.
I received praises, raises and promotions.
But all the while I felt lost and struggled with finding the career path I was truly meant for.

Eventually, I decided to take a chance and pursue counseling in higher education.
I applied and was accepted to grad school. (I start this Fall! 🙂 )

I watched my Mom struggle with heart disease and eventually have triple bypass surgery.
I missed out on a big vacation to be with my family.
Suddenly, I was the one taking care of my Mom for a change.
It was a big reminder to not take the people you love for granted.

I made new friends.
And I said goodbye to a couple that were doing more harm than good.
I realized that the only people I needed in my life were the ones who truly appreciated me in theirs.
I strengthened the bond with some of my closest friends.
We vacationed and we had adventures.

And finally, two years ago I started blogging.
Plan and simple, it changed my life.

The last three years have been quite a ride, bumpy at times, but my hands are in the air and I’m loving the thrill of it all.

5 thoughts on “Post Grad

  1. Its amazing to look back and see how far we’ve come isnt it? I sometimes read old blog posts and don’t feel like the same woman and the truth is I’m not. I’m always growing, changing, learning, and my blog reflects that. I think yours does too.

  2. It’s crazy how three years doesn’t seem like a long amount of time, but so much has happened within it. Like you, a lot of happened to me since I’ve graduated. It feels like yesterday, and it doesn’t at the same time.

  3. Love the new blog name. It fits you perfectly I think and I don’t even “know” you. And what brookem said is super true. you’re flipping adorable.

  4. You and I graduated within like a DAY of each other! I graduated May 5, 2007. And until I read your post, I hadn’t even realized it had been THREE YEARS already! Crazy. 😛

Leave a Reply

