Weigh-In Wednesday: Back to Square One

Hello my loves!  In case anyone was worried – all is well.  I’ve been in a very reflective mood as of late which is why I think I was compelled to post one of my favorite poems the other day.  I’ll update on life soon but right now, we have to deal with the matter at hand…. weigh-in Wed!

I apologize (to you guys and also to myself!) for skipping out on my weigh-ins the last couple weeks.  I gave myself a free pass after Memorial Day weekend but then the next weekend turned out to be equally bad, eating wise – with a wedding and grad party (and way too many martinis and yummy (bad!) food)

So, here we are weeks later.  I got on the scale this morning thinking I would see a very bad number.  The result was….

…exactly the same as when I started this adventure (I used the same pic since I was lazy lol).   Which  means I gained back the 2 lbs I lost after the first week.

The Good

I am actually really happy the damage was not worse than this considering I’ve really really fallen off the dieting wagon lately.  I’m also happy that I have still kept off those 5 lbs I lost while on South Beach in April!  I’ve also been staying active and playing tennis at least 3 times a week.  So there’s a couple positive things.

The Bad

Overall though, I am disappointed in my lack of discipline lately.  My eating has not been good at all and it all began Memorial Day weekend.  I could sit here and list a bunch of excuses – it was a holiday, I was at my friends house, wedding, graduation party – but it all come down to the fact that I need to learn how to eat healthy no matter what situation I’m in.  For instance, at the wedding and grad party I could have made smarter drink choices.  My usual diet drink is Vodka Club w/ a splash of lime.  But lately, I have been indulging in too many beers and sugary martinis.

And even if I can’t control the food at these events, I at least need to grab some control over portion size and stop myself from over eating. 

Sigh.  Lessons learned.  Lessons learned.

The Bottom Line

I’m considering this a fresh start.  Yes, I’ve veered off course and thought I would be doing better by now.  I’ve reflected on where I’ve gone wrong and I know what to change.  So here are some new goals:

  • Continue getting in 3 good workouts a week
  • When I choose to drink, make a smarter choice like Vodka Club
  • Watch my portion size
  • Try to cut back on the bad carbs (mostly white rice, white bread, potatoes)

I feel like setting guidelines for myself will be really helpful so let’s see how this next week goes.  I have a little over a month until I go on a cruise to Bermuda so I’d really love to lose at least 10lbs by then.  Which is totally achievable and would be a healthy weight loss of about 2 lbs a week.

NEWBIE ALERT:  Amanda just hopped on the Weigh-In Wednesday train and wrote her first post about it.  Head on over there to give her some encouragement, would ya dolls?!  🙂

Oh yeah, and happy hump day!

5 thoughts on “Weigh-In Wednesday: Back to Square One

  1. ah! i was JUST going to leave you a comment and tell you that i linked you! so glad you saw it! wish i could say that i made some progess, but sadly, i’m in the same boat as you. let’s promise to do better from now on! i’ve noticed that i do better when i take things week by week instead of limiting myself completely. also, i do better when i write in a food journal and plan my meals. i found this really good website http://www.personal-nutrition-guide.com where you can print pages for a food diary and a bunch of other documents that help you count calories and things like that. i don’t know if that would be helpful for you, but i thought i’d share! good luck!

  2. Well, like you said, at least it wasn’t a terrible weight gain! It’s hard once you (I) fall of the wagon it’s tough to get back on! I’ll be posting on Monday, hopefully, about a challenge I’m taking for myself in the next few weeks. We’ll see if it helps!

    (and glad to hear everything is ok!)

  3. Remeber that EVERY day is a chance to do it right! If you have a not so good day? That’s alright, tomorrow is a new one. 🙂

    I’m thinking about joining. I’ll get back to you.

Leave a Reply

