Crash

8:30pm

my dad is sitting on the couch.. my mom on the chair.

his face is very stern, i think i’m in trouble.. my heart starts to race…

“what!? what is it??” i ask.

he looks at me with a face i can’t read… “i don’t know how else to say this but… i’ve found someone… else…. that I want to be with…. you’re mother and i are seperating”

i understood the words but do not comprehend the meaning for what feels like a few minutes… the wind feels knocked out of me… i can’t speak… even when i try, i have no words.

he keeps talking about how he loves me and he will be there but its all just a blur.

finally, i calm down enough to ask “well, what do you mean?  where exactly are you moving?”

“Canada… Nova Scotia”

crash. bam. boom.

world upside down, in 3 minutes flat.

8 thoughts on “Crash

  1. Hang in there and keep your chin up! Remember to surround yourself with all of the POSITIVE people you have around you. They love you and are prepared to support you, listen to you, cry with you and laugh with you. You will make it through this! You will be in my thoughts.

  2. P.S. I’m grateful that you have me on your blogroll even though I am essentially a retired blogger! 🙂 It makes me feel like not EVERYONE has forgotten about me. Thanks! Haha.

  3. I’m SO SO SO sorry to hear this! I actually got teared up reading this because I know EXACTLY what you’re going through – expect for the dad moving far far away part. My parents divorced when I was 13 because my mom found someone new. You WILL get through this and you will come out a better person. Don’t be mad or resent your dad for doing this, you’ll regret it in the end. I know you have to be so mad at him right now, but when he’s older, you’re going to want to be there for him. I wish I could just give you a hug! I’ll definitely be praying for you during this extremely tough and emotional time. Hang in there and don’t shut down! Talk about it – it helps, I swear.

    Stay strong. xox

  4. Oh my goodness, Allie, I’m so sorry. I know this sucks and feels like someone punched you in the stomach. The exact same thing happened to me when my dad met someone new and left us (only he moved 20 miles away). It sucks and there is drama and hurt and people get angry. I’m here if you ever want to talk, seriously. Feel free to email me whenever! Millions of hugs.

  5. Allie. I’m so sorry that I just read this. I’m so sorry that you are going through this and dealing with it. I wish I could be there to give you a hug. I can’t imagine what it must be like; sending you, your mom and sister all the strength in the world. Always here for you. xoxo

  6. Pingback: T – O « alliecakes

Leave a Reply

