(Semi) Homemade Cooking with Alliecakes

Ya’ll (I know I’m from Jersey but when I blog, I always want to say ya’ll so I’m gonna do it.. I’m just wild like that!) I have a new obsession and I need to share it with you, my lovely bloginis.

I’m totally obsessed with pizza making and I do not foresee this new obsession disappearing anytime soon!

BUT, I’m really not the suzy homemaker type so I don’t really do the totally “homemade” route… more like “semi-homemade” because well, I AM making it in my HOME so it’s at least part homemade! (at least that is MY take on the situation) 😉  So, yes, I cheat and I buy fresh dough from the store (ok, and canned sauce) but the fun part is getting to put it all together yourself.  Here’s a shot from when Lovey & I made pizzas on Valentine’s Day.

The pizza on the left is mine – whole wheat dough, Bertolli’s vodka (!) sauce, fresh mozzerella & a little shredded mozzerella too.

Lovey’s is on the right with white dough, marinara sauce, shredded mozzerella and pepperoni!  They were delicious. 🙂

On Friday night, I decided I wanted to get a little more creative and made a BBQ Chicken Pizza and a Buffalo Chicken Pizza

Like I mentioned before I am ALL about shortcuts so I bought a rotisserie chicken at the store to use for the chicken and I loved how it worked on the pizza (I know ya’ll are loving my shortcuts haha, I could totally take over that show on the Food Network Semi-Homemade cooking w/ whatsherface)  Back to the pizzas, I was trying to make them as close to my favorite pizza place in Myrtle Beach as possible (Ultimate California Pizza – if you go to Myrtle Beach, you HAVE to go there!)

For the BBQ Chicken pizza, I used Kraft Thick & Spicy Honey Barbeque Sauce, shredded chicken, Shredded Reduced Fat Mozzerella and Shredded Monterey Jack Cheese on whole wheat pizza dough.  It was bangin, if I do say so myself. 🙂

For the buffalo chicken – this needs some more perfecting.  Lovey was worried about it being too spicy so for the sauce I  combined hot sauce (Frank’s) with Ranch dressing, which on its own tasted spicy but ended up really drying out when it was cooked.  I also tossed the chicken in the same sauce.  But again, it didn’t come out spicy enough!  So next time, I am going to try using ranch as the sauce and then making the chicken spicy with just hot sauce!  And see how that works out.  I also used a combination of mozzerella & monteray jack cheese which worked perfect.  It still came out good but next time, I’m determined to get it right!

No pictures to show for the chicken pizza’s though! 😦

In other news, this weekend was SO fun and much needed after last week!

I went bowling with My Love & some of his friends last night and it was a blast.  I drank like 4 beers though and paid for it today.  I couldn’t believe it, I was kinda hungover today.  Really?  Ah, I guess that’s what happens when you’re almost 26, just can’t hang like I used to!

Oh and I saved the best for last…. I got the internship I interviewed for on Thursday! Woot!  It is EXACTLY the kind of experience I was looking for and I couldn’t be happier!

Anyways, happy Monday bloginis!  Got a long day ahead of me but I’m ready to take it on.

Make me smile and share your weekend with me in the comments. 🙂

4 thoughts on “(Semi) Homemade Cooking with Alliecakes

  1. I love making pizzas! Yours sound yummy – I might have to steal them. My weekend was good – a bar in the city on Friday, dinner/drinks with friends on Saturday . . . laying in bed nursing a stomach bug yesterday. OK that one kinda put a damper on it, but besides that, lovely weekend.

  2. i’m so confused about why it dried out – must experiment. because of COURSE i’ve been on a pizza kick lately too! (although sometimes i wonder if “altely” means, you know, the past 27 years of my life).

    do you have a pizza stone? i hear it makes all the difference, crust-wise.

Leave a Reply

