When I Knew…

December 23rd 2009

We sat near his Christmas tree,
wrapping paper scattered all around us.
Snuggling close together, admiring our new gifts
and enjoying our first Christmas together.
There was a necklace I had been hinting that I’d really like
but instead, he picked out a very pretty pair of earrings by the same designer.
He teased that I was disappointed that it wasn’t the necklace.
Maybe a smidge, but I loved that he picked this on his own.

He looked at me with a twinkle in his eye and said
“ok… well, there may be one.more.present.
You might want to go check in my stocking.”

I jumped up and ran over to look in the stocking.
Inside was the necklace I had been hoping for.
I was so happy!
but not just to see the necklace, although it was pretty and nice…

But nothing compared to the look on his face,
his excitement to surprise me and to see me happy,
the extra planning to make it special.

And, that’s the moment I knew.

I love him.

Now, the moment I actually said it?Β  Well, that’s a whole other story. πŸ™‚

When did you know?

5 thoughts on “When I Knew…

  1. Gosh, I knew I was falling for him after two weeks. When I knew? I’m not totally sure. Maybe when he went to Barnes & Noble with me, was so excited to meet my parents after Thanksgiving or when he kind of rearranged part of his life for me. We said it after like six weeks of dating and I wouldn’t change that for the world. At all. When you know, you know.

  2. Hmmm, for me it was a gradual thing. My hubby and I were best friends for a year or two, so I loved him like a friend. And then it turned into something else. Maybe it was the time he drove through a blizzard to visit me at college. πŸ™‚ I was so worried for him, but then so happy to see him. I knew that I loved him more than a friend at that point…

  3. What a cute story! I wish my bf would do romantic gestures like that πŸ™‚ Well, I guess he did in the beginning.. I wonder if there is a way to bring back that behavior.

Leave a Reply

